Creative and Custom Jewelry

Playing with Metals

Learning how to work with metals was quite a switch from my usual late January activity – skiing – but it is something I have wanted to do for awhile now.  So I hauled out my collected books on metal work, liked the excuse to buy a few new tools, and started making things. Here is an idea of how that week went…..

My New Tools!

My New Tools!

First, I needed materials…..

When I was in Rome last fall, I roamed the streets and enjoyed the everyday art.

IMG_7729

My Favorite Street Vendor

My Favorite Street Vendor

I particularly enjoyed meeting street vendors and my favorite one recycled metals to form interesting shapes that he linked together for jewelry. As is typical of me, I bought them to take them apart. I made the necklaces sturdier and, in my opinion, even more interesting!

Street Vendor Jewelry from Rome

Street Vendor Jewelry from Rome

Above are the chains I bought, mostly from the vendor pictured. Below you can see what I did with them.  Riveting and forging have become my favorite new skills.

DSCN0990DSCN0993

DSCN0991I also started to work with copper and sterling silver wire of different gauges. Below are my first attempts, before and after I applied a patina.

Metalwork before Patina

Metalwork before Patina

Bracelet with Patina

Copper and Silver Bracelet with Patina

Copper Earrings with Patina

Copper Earrings with Patina

Have a Nice Spring! – Deb

One response

  1. Joni

    Deb, You are so creative and have such a great eye for things, including how to change pieces to become even more interesting. Amazing!

    February 21, 2013 at 6:44 PM

Leave a comment